::: Home  Resource Center  Cultural Awards  
National Cultural Heritage Preservation Awards
National Cultural Heritage Preservation Awards




The National Cultural Heritage Preservation Awards were established to encourage individuals, groups, and corporations to participate in preserving cultural heritage, and to award such contributions. The awards are also open to non-Taiwanese nationals. 

The biennial awards program has four categories that recognize different achievements in the field, including preservation work on tangible cultural heritage, outstanding contribution, and efforts in conserving traditional arts, folk arts or intangible cultural assets.

A special award is given to individuals who have devoted their lives to promoting cultural heritage-related policies or research.

The entries must be recommended by institutions related to cultural heritage, the Ministry of Culture’s review committee members, or former judges of the awards. Two separate judge panels for tangible and intangible cultural assets each select the final entries, which are later reviewed by a different jury.

So far, Italian priest Gian Carlo Michelini is the only non-Taiwanese recipient of the heritage awards. He was honored in 2012 for helping promote and preserve Taiwan’s traditional and folk dances by establishing the Lan Yang Dancers troupe. Among other recipients are Taiwanese opera master Liao Chiung-chih, hand puppeteer and preservationist Chen Hsi-huang, and architect Han Pao-teh.

Several preservation projects have also been awarded for their success in renovating and maintaining historic buildings, including a building and an auditorium at Tainan Second Senior High School, a weather station built in Tainan in 1898, the Tsung-Yeh sugar factory in Matou, and the Historical Museum of the Land Bank of Taiwan in Taipei. 


Latest Updates


facebook googleplus twitter print email