::: Home  What's New  Latest News  
Winners of the 2013 Golden Literature Awards
Winners of the 2013 Golden Literature Awards

The winners of this year’s Taiwan Golden Literature Awards were announced on Nov. 14. The Golden Award for Best Novel went to Lee Chiao’s “V and Body,” the Golden Award for Best Poetry to Chen Li’s “Pilgrimage,” the Golden Award for Best Short Play to Liu Jung-chen’s “Parallel Line,” and the Golden Award for Best Aboriginal Novel to Auvini Kadresengan’s “Tear.” The award ceremony is scheduled for Dec. 7 at the National Museum of Taiwan Literature in Tainan City.   

The award is considered one of the top literary honors in Taiwan. All submissions for the four categories underwent three stages of review.

Lee Chiao will be awarded NT$1 million (US$33,824) and a trophy for his novel that echoes Taiwan’s historical ideology by depicting the body’s fragment, collapse and split. Other nominees for the best novel category were Lu Che-chih, Ho Chih-ho, Syman Rapongan and Tung Nian.

Chen Li’s award-winning poetry collection discusses both history and reality using classic and modern styles. He will be given NT$300,000 and a trophy. Other nominees for the poetry award were Hung Hung, Lee Chin-wen, Wang Chi-chiang and Luo Chih-cheng.

Liu Jung-chen won the top play award for his dreamy yet realistic scene that took place in the space between Earth and Purgatory, and his outstanding portrayal of human beings’ intertwined involvement in life, death and love. Other nominated playwrights were Wu Ming-lun, Shen Mian, Hsu Li-wen and Huang Pei-han.

Indigenous writer Auvini Kadresengan’s short story describes the relations between a grandparent and a grandchild, as well as their inseparable sufferings, in a plain yet poetic language. The story is described as being restraint in its depiction of life’s sadness and bitterness, creating a sad but not overly depressing tone. Other nominees were Chien Lee Jung-sung and Yeh Hsien-neng. 


  • 長篇小說金典獎 : 作家李喬的《v與身體》
  • 新詩金典獎 : 詩人陳黎的《朝/聖》
  • 劇本金典獎 : 劉勇辰的〈平行線〉
  • 原住民短篇小說金典獎 : 奧威尼‧卡露斯的〈淚水〉

2013 Golden Literature Awards:

  • Best Novel: Lee Chiao’s “V and Body”
  • Best Poetry: Chen Li’s “Pilgrimage”
  • Best Short Play: Liu Jung-chen’s “Parallel Line”
  • Best Aboriginal Novel: Auvini Kadresengan’s “Tear”
facebook googleplus twitter print email